Buy the album:

Released: December 2, 2016

Joe Boylan: rhythm and lead guitars in left speaker; slide guitar; harmonica; vocals 
Walt Mamaluy: bass, percussion, backing vocals, lead vocals on “Rinse” 
Reginald DeJesus: lead and rhythm guitars mainly in right speaker; backing vocals 
John Vasudevan: drums; percussion; congas; shakers 
Matt Jules Rhine: keyboards, piano, trumpet, backing vocals

1. Tip the Maitre D’
2. Twisted and Broke
3. A Capacity for Violence
4. Out of Towners
5. Waterline
6. Rinse
7. Queequeg’s Coffin
8. Birthday Present
9. You’re Gonna Miss Me
10. Spiderbite

All songs copyright 2016 Neither Tenzing Norgay Music
Recorded at Red Planet Clifton Heights, PA
July 30, 2016 – October 15, 2016
Produced by The Disgruntled Sherpa Project and Joe Smiley
Mixed and Mastered by Joe Smiley at Red Planet


Twisted and Broke Birthday Party Waterline


Catastrophe, the tenth album from The Disgruntled Sherpa Project, is a harder edged and more experimental work than their most recent album, Blessed Geography. 

The second album recorded by the band since their 2014 reunification, Catastrophe consists of punchy rock songs, bass and rhythm funk songs and long sprawling epic guitar tunes. 

The band returned to Red Planet recording studio in Clifton Heights, PA in the summer of 2016 and over the course of one day laid down 10 songs for their new album. Whereas previous releases offered country and folk flavored acoustic numbers Catastrophe contains no acoustic guitars and relies many on harder driving rhythms by bassist Walt Mamaluy and drummer John Vasudevan and rock guitars by Joe Boylan and Reginald DeJesus. 

Matt Rhine who joined the band in 2014 brings, once again, brings an array of piano and keyboards as well as his trumpet playing which has become a fan favorite at live shows. 

The songs touch on a wide variety of themes populated by varied characters: the political allegory of two campaign wogs dining at a fancy restaurant in “Tip the Maitre D'”; the mentally damaged characters reaching out for help of “A Capacity for Violence”; the locals fighting gentrification against “Out of Towners”; the “happy to be rid of her” cad shouting for joy in “You’re Going to Miss Me.” 

“Queequeg’s Coffin” throws in some Herman Melville references alongside gorgeous harmonies and dueling guitars. The album’s centerpiece, the epic “Waterline,” boasts lengthy guitar solos by Reginald DeJesus, arguably the greatest guitar solos in band’s long history. The album’s closer, the 8 minute plus “Spiderbite” has been described by one early listener as “the weirdest song I’ve heard in awhile.” 

There’s even a trumpet driven pseudo Christmas song that songs more like a soccer pub fight song than “White Christmas.”